Lineworker & Electrician Jobs in Energy: Demand, Pay & Skills
Part of Plutarch’s ongoing analysis of skill demand in energy hiring — last updated 5 October 2026, based on 275 tracked postings.
As of 5 October 2026, Plutarch tracked 275 unique open Lineworker & Electrician postings at energy employers. 6 postings disclosed annual pay, with a Canada median of CAD 129,000.
This role family spans mainly skilled trades in electrical and utility maintenance work, with postings concentrated in the United States and Germany, followed by smaller volumes in Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. Almost all titles give no seniority marker, with only a handful flagged as senior or lead and a few as junior or apprentice level, and none at executive level. A large share of the German postings cluster around renewable energy installation work, while the US postings lean toward lineworker and journeyman utility roles.
Open postings
Where
- United States · 106
- Switzerland · 66
- Germany · 35
- Canada · 31
- United Kingdom · 15
- Other or not stated · 22
Seniority
- Early career · 9
- Level not stated in title · 261
- Senior, lead, staff or manager · 5
Disclosed pay by country · annual
| Country | Lowest to highest employer midpoint | Median | Postings stating pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | CAD 111,000–140,000 | CAD 129,000 | 6 of 30 |
| United States | USD 74,000–128,000 | USD 103,000 | 6 of 95 |
Directional, not conclusive. Each figure is the midpoint of a salary range an employer disclosed in a public job posting, derived from public market sources and rounded to the nearest thousand. Samples are small, so a country appears only when at least 5 open postings disclose annual pay. At these sample sizes, do not compare one role’s median against another’s — the difference between them is smaller than the error on either.
How many employers state pay
- United States · pay stated in 40 of 95 postings we could read
- Switzerland · pay stated in 0 of 27 postings we could read
- Germany · pay stated in 1 of 32 postings we could read
- Canada · pay stated in 23 of 30 postings we could read
- United Kingdom · pay stated in 4 of 15 postings we could read
Counted from the same open postings as above, leaving out postings whose text we could not read for pay. Pay disclosure tracks local pay-transparency law more closely than employer policy, so a low rate is not evidence that employers here pay less.
Who is hiring
| Employer | Open postings |
|---|---|
| Axpo | 66 |
| 1KOMMA5° | 29 |
| Freeport-McMoRan | 21 |
| National Grid | 8 |
| Siemens Energy | 8 |
| Spark Power | 7 |
| Constellation Energy | 6 |
| Newmont | 6 |
| Taseko Mines | 6 |
| Good Energy | 5 |
| Redwood Materials | 5 |
| Venture Home | 5 |
| Other employers | 103 |
How these roles are titled
The titles employers use for this role, most repeated first. Titles shown without a count appeared once.
- Electrician · 21 postings
- Journeyman Electrician · 6 postings
- Underground Electrician · 4 postings
- Electrician Apprentice · 2 postings
- Electrician II · 2 postings
- Industrial Electrician · 2 postings
- Maintenance Electrician · 2 postings
- Master Electrician · 2 postings
- Solar Electrician · 2 postings
- 1st Class Electrician
- Alternant Technicien Électricien - Landivisiau
- Är du utbildad som industrielektriker, eller inom styr och reglerteknik? Sök till oss på Ringhals instrumentunderhåll!
- Auto Electrician
- BESS Electrician
- Betriebselektriker/in
What employers ask for
Skills and tools named in the text of 168 open postings we could read in full, most named first.
| Skill or tool | Postings naming it | Employers |
|---|---|---|
| PLC programming | 38 of 168 | 14 |
| High or medium voltage | 36 of 168 | 10 |
A skill counts when the posting names it anywhere — requirements, role description or the employer’s own introduction. A skill is shown only when at least 3 postings from at least two employers name it. Postings whose full text we did not read are left out of these counts rather than counted as asking for nothing.
Certificates and licences named
Credentials named in the same 168 postings. A mention is what employers ask for; it does not mean a law requires it.
| Certificate or licence | Postings naming it | Employers |
|---|---|---|
| Red Seal (Canada) | 22 of 168 | 11 |
Patterns in the job titles
- Overhead and underground lineworker or journeyman experience
- Industrial maintenance electrician skills
What the postings suggest about filling this role
Demand centers on experienced, certified tradespeople such as journeyman linemen and electricians, which tends to narrow the usable candidate pool compared with entry-level trades postings. The near absence of junior or apprentice titles and the heavy concentration in two countries suggests employers are competing mainly for already-qualified workers rather than training new entrants, which can lengthen time to fill.
Read from employer demand only. These sources show what employers advertise, not how many people are available to hire, so this is a reading of the vacancies rather than a measure of scarcity.
Show these figures on your own website or newsletter
For recruitment agencies, careers sites, hiring blogs and newsletters: add a small card that shows how many Lineworker & Electrician roles energy employers have open and the skills they ask for most. It is useful beside a job advert or a market update, to show candidates and clients the demand. The card updates itself each week, and it names Plutarch as the source.
To add it, paste this code into your page's HTML, or send it to whoever manages your website.
Grade a job description — free, no sign-up
Paste a job description. We point out wording that may mislead candidates, whether it needs a credential, and how it compares with what energy employers ask for.Open the full grader.
This page describes the market. Your role is one job description.
Paste it to get a hiring-feasibility brief: whether the role can be filled, at what price, and who else could do it — every figure labelled by what it rests on.
Check your role — two briefs freeCounts are unique open postings seen in the last three weeks, taken from the named employers’ own published job postings; a vacancy posted in several places is counted once. Employers are named because they published these postings publicly themselves. The written summary is AI-generated from those postings and contains no figures and no employer names. Posting figures are direct counts; pay figures are the median and range of the salaries those employers disclosed. Terms of use.